Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Motec M800 (x00) Series Flex Fuel Tuning - How to do it?

Ethanol & Flex Fuel Tuning

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discussion and questions related to the course Ethanol & Flex Fuel Tuning

= Resolved threads

Author

Hey Guys.

Here's some background. I've been using a Motec M800 for over 10 years and back then, it was the best that was available and Flex Fuel wasn't really a thing. Over the years I have added to the ECU at a considerable cost and I currently have:

Supra/2JZ Non VVTi.

Motec M800 with Advanced Functions / TC

Motec Dash CDL with 8mb and i2 Pro

Motec CDI-8 running 2JZ Coil packs

Titan Motorsports PNP Adaptor for the 2JZ

Motec PLM with LSU 4.9 Sensor

Considering - Motec SKM

Yep, I'm heavily invested in the motec hundred series ecosystem. The latest Link G4 Thunder is a pretty great ECU and that could be my stop gap before going to a Motec M150

Here's the rub, I want to go flex fuel with compensations and a proper flex fuel map that is compensated on the fly, much like the PS2000 / Elite 2500 does.

Attached is the Fuel Comp. Correction table and the Fuel Scalar.

AFAIK, the 33% trim is applied according to the % of ethanol content as detected in the scalar.

So at 0 Ethanol, 0*33% = 0. at E90, 1.08*33% = 35.64% correction to the fuel table.

It's possible to do away with the fuel composition map and just make a scalar map for the Motec as the trim value will the the same. 3D with %ethanol vs kPa

For IGN kPa vs %ethanol should work just the same.

Boost - %ethanol vs RPM with % trim being the change factor. or %ethanol vs RPM for boost aim.

Every one that I've spoken to says that it can be done, however the Motec cannot accept the frequency input for ethanol content - it doesn't work.

Flex Fuel Sensor info: