Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Webinar 092 — Fuel System Design

Webinar Questions

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Ask questions about webinar lessons here. To see the Previous Webinars for a complete list of archives tuning webinars. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Forgive me if I posted this question incorrectly; newbie here.

Just watched webinar 092 on fuel system design and I have a question regarding the return line. Andre mentioned he typically uses the next AN size down on the return vs. the feed. He also mentioned that the smallest ID of the system is going to be the determining factor on flow rate and pressure. While the return orifice on my Aeromotove FPR is -6 the orifice inside is only 0.21” (see attached photo).

I’m confused as to how any return line size greater in size than this orifice size will make any difference in return flow capacity or pressure? Admittedly I have no formal training on fluid dynamics so excuse my ignorance.Thanks so much and you guys are amazing in your knowledge, passion for the subject matter and presentation skills. I hope you’re making good money and will be around for a long time!

Attached Files
  • 66C6D27E-8A2B-49FA-99F0-8B12BB8D49B0.jpeg
  • Attachments may only be downloaded by paid Gold members. Read more about becoming a Gold member here.

I'm no doctor of physics, but I'll try to explain, until someone more experienced pitches in.

The orifice on your pressure regulator (in combination with a spring loaded valve) regulates the amount of pressure on the inlet line. That's where your injectors are, and by connected vessel fluid dynamics (apologise for the poor translation), injectors are under this pressure too. After the orifice, the line is opened to atmosphere (indirectly via fuel tank), so there's atmosphere pressure there, or no gauge pressure.