Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Cant start Ford Duratec ST170 / SVT

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi All

Hope you clever people can help.

This is my first time setting up vipec

I can not get this motor to run. Tried for days now!!!!

Spec as follow

ECU - Vipec V88

Motor - Ford Duratec / ST170 / SVT with the VCT on the inlet cam with Turbo

Ignition - Beru ZS041 coil on plugs. All info I have on them. ECU Mode is direct spark. Done tests, they click

Injectors - Deatschwerks Bosch injectors. Dead times as per spec given. ECU Mode is Sequential. Done tests, they click

Triggers - Brand new reluctor Ford sensors. Checked wires for wrong way around. 100% confident they are correct.

On trigger setup up I selected the Duratec VCT setup. Get steady rpm on cranking. Trigger 1 and 2 both get signal as they go Yes.

Trigger 2 picks up 90% of the time, even when checking under vvt in runtime values. Sometimes it says "error: 2nd cam pulse" on trigger 2. Comes and goes.

The cam has 5 teeth. 4 equal with one in between them. Almost like 8 - 3 teeth. I think my problems comes from here!!

Calibrated trigger. Get perfect reading on TDC. Sometimes the cam is in exhaust stroke and sometimes in compression stroke???

Dont know what to do, please help. Attached is the map file

Attached Files

Im pretty sure those coils are non-amplified, they will likely need an ignitor. You can confirm they are non amplified by measuring resistance between the two outside terminals - if it is very low resistance like less than 1ohm then they are non-amplified and will need a separate ignitor.