Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Elite 1500 + 13b wideband fluctuations

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi everyone,

This is my first time tuning a rotary and i've been fighting some issues with my afr fluctuations recently and can't figure out what's going on.

Setup is a 13b rotary, bosch 1000cc primaries, elite 1500, and aem wideband/bosch lsu4.9 sensor. All the correct injector deadtime info is supplied and triple checked, but the afr to me seems incredibly unstable, no matter what I do I seem to come up with a 0.02 to 0.08 lambda fluctuation.

If anyone can please check the log I attached and zoom in to the idle areas you'll see a fairly consistent rpm, and MAP, but the lambda is far too jagged for what I would expect to see.

Only thing I can think is this is either normal for a rotary with more overlap than standard, I've got a distorted/ interfered signal, or ive set something up wrong.

Thanks in advance for any assistance

-Matt

Attached Files

Can you describe the exhaust system - length, diameter, connections (V-bands, flange/gasket, slip fit?), where the Lambda sensor is located - what is the distance from end of exhaust?.

I often find idle Lambda readings are a challenge due to the low air flow, and non-combusted air pulled into the exhaust. The closer the sensor is to the tailpipe (or slip connection) the worse the problem. Sometimes you just need to tune by ear -- give the engine what it wants to run smoothly. Assume the wideband is probably reading leaner than the actual mixture.