Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Issues with Setting Ride Height on 350Z with BC Racing DS Coilovers

Motorsport Wheel Alignment Fundamentals

Relevant Module: Practical Skills > Adjusting Ride Height Using Coil Over Suspension

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discussion and questions related to the course Motorsport Wheel Alignment Fundamentals

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi All,

I’m having issues setting the ride height on my 350Z with BC racing DS coilovers, these are the rear true coilover conversion, so its integrated spring rather than the original separated design.

I have also replaced mostly all suspension arms to fully adjustable, all new bushes and ball joints etc.

So Iv watch both suspension and alignment courses. This is my first time doing this in-depth suspension setup.

BC manual says to adjust the ride height from the bottom mount, contrary from what Iv learnt in the HPA courses being that this should be adjusted at the spring perch.

But here’s what I’m not understanding. If I need to lower the spring perch, I will not have any preload in the spring (2-3mm from BC) and it won’t be captive during full droop / jacked up. Obviously don’t want this situation, and since I’m setting at stock ride height, there shouldn’t be any concerns with wheels making contact with fender guard. Hence Iv still opted to adjust at the lower mount.

With that, Iv set all coilovers to the same heights left and right. Issue I’m having is, I’m seeing a 14mm difference in ride height between left and right on the front. Only a 4mm difference in the rear left to right.

Iv checked and double checked the coilovers are exactly the same length, checked that nothing is obviously bent or out of place. The front lower arms are still the stock arms.