Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Motec E816 expander wiring

Practical Motorsport Wiring - Club Level

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discussion and questions related to the course Practical Motorsport Wiring - Club Level

= Resolved threads

Author

Hey guys. Excuse my very fundamental knowledge on this topic, but I have some questions. I have motec C125 Dash that is I/O unlocked. I need more I/Os even after getting it unlocked. In this case I am buying a Motec E816 expander which is something I’ve never used before. Now from the reading I have done it communicates Via CAN to the Dash Logger. The car itself does not have a CAN bus. This leads to my question… how would I connect these two together? Do I make a small can bus that is specific in between the expander and the dash? Any input would be nice and don’t be afraid to dumb it down for me. Thanks.

If they are indeed communicating via CAN, you are right and you would need to create a bus with only those 2 components. I've never worked with these devices, but here are a couple of generic points :

1. A CAN bus needs 2x 120 ohms termination resistors. No less, no more. Some component have them built in, that you can activate via software, or sometimes it's a selector switch or even a jumper that you need to solder together. Refer to the manual for how this work. You can also wire external 120 ohms resistor if the components doesn't have them.

2. All of the components of the CAN bus need to communicate at the same speed. 256kb, 512kb, 1mb... Again, it's usually selected in the software, but some components need a jumper to be soldered to choose it.

3. The 2 components will need to communicate with the same protocol, and you'll need to do a bit of configuration so both of your devices "understand" each others. Again, I have never used those MoTec devices so I can't help with that.