Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Intermittent Fuel/Ignition cuts with an M130?

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

I am part of an FSAE team in the US. We run a YZ450R with a factory gear box. We are set up for clutchless up shifting and down shifts via a pingel system. We use a MoTec M130 for an ECU. We currently run 40% fuel cuts and 40% ignition cuts during up shifting only which works well when the system itself is actually working. This is my first year tuning the car so I'm using a tune similar to what was used the previous year. The gear is always in "fault" mode and that was done intentionally because there is no sensor for the vehicle to know what gear it is actually in. Last weekend when doing some testing we were having problems with the cuts, sometimes working as they should, sometimes not at all. I would like to know if anyone has an idea of a parameter or limiter that could be causing the ecu not to allow the cuts? The throttle limits are set at 100% for each gear, all of the ratio inputs are correct, Gear shift speed minimum is set at 1000 rpm(range for us is usually 6000-10000 rpm). Let me know what other information would be needed to get an idea of the problem. TIA!

Start by posting some screenshots so we can understand what exactly you are looking at. Exactly what sensors do you have on the engine?

Does your logged "Gear Estimate Ratio" equal your "Gear Ratio" table for each gear? What are you using to detect a gear shift -- two switches, or a strain gauge?

What is the value of "Gear Source"?

Exactly what channel is showing Fault -- "Gear Position"? Is "Gear Position Sensor Sensor Main Resource" set to "Not in Use"?

What is the value of "Gear"?

Is "Gear Shift Mode" enabled?

Is "Gear Shift Engine Speed Limit Mode" enabled?