Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

ECU option for the my99 uk2000 3 plug impreza

Off Topic Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

If it's not really about tuning or wiring. Then it belongs in here.

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi Guys

Beginners post so I'm a bit of a novice so bare with me. I currently have a ecutek'd ecu tuned to 350 bhp (20g turbo, 740 injectors, 57i induction kit and uprated intake pipe, FMI, 3 inch turbo back exhaust, 255 lph walbro, 3 port boost solenoid, ej207 bottom end, RCM gaskets, 6 spd gearbox, pink box clutch etc)

There are many tuners that say this set up is good for at least 380 but my mapper said my MAF wont go above 350 (spoke to two other mappers and they both said that you can rescale them fine to over 400). anyway. my question is I'd like to start mapping my self. I've contacted ecutek and they will only sell me the trade k series 99 software as a trader for £2500 with 5 keys.

What I'm after is a ecu that I can learn on that isn't going to cost me thousands, "I know you get what you pay for etc". however as my vehicle isn't DBW I cant use open source software as they only do DBW (or at least what I can find). there are options like simtek, alcatek, eculabs, but they all want your previous ecu in exchange and I would like to keep my ecu so I don't feel the need to go after power straight away when learning to map. obviously you have haltech, link etc but there all big bucks. what would people recommend? has anyone heard of eculabs and have they had good experiences? I know there a French company that offer to upgrade a standard ecu with mafless, lc, al, flat foot shifting, switchable maps,

So if there's anyone who's had the same and knows a good route to go down I'd appreciate any advise.

Kind regards

Billy