Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

How to wire hall sensor to work with Nissan 240sx OEM speedometer

Practical Motorsport Wiring - Club Level

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discussion and questions related to the course Practical Motorsport Wiring - Club Level

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi guys, i have a 1jz/r154 with an ECUmaster EMU and I'm trying to get the speedometer to work on a Nissan 240sx s13 OEM cluster.

My question is to do with the speed sensor signal:

Originally, the speedometer takes the VR speed sensor signal and outputs a square wave to the ECU. The speed sensor in the 1jz is a Hall sensor and is wired directly to the ECU instead of through the cluster. The output then comes from the ECU to the speedometer and can only be a square wave. Im wondering what I can do to resolve this (Ie: some kind of square wave to sin wave convertor) and how to wire it into the cluster (ie: what can I omit from the factory inputs to the speedo - do I still need pin 28 and 24?)

The original inputs/outputs to the factory speedometer (without heads up display):

- ground - pin 28,

- Switched voltage - pin 24,

- signal from VR sensor - pin 6,

- Signal ground on VR sensor - pin 12,

- square wave signal to ECU - pin 7

Someone give me some advice! I heard it is possible to use a RC circuit to convert square to sine but it would only work for 1 frequency, not the whole range.. not sure what the solution is to that.

Factory speedo wiring picture below, hope its clear. Thanks in advance!

Attached Files

Might just be easier to fit a VR sensor compatible with the Speedometer.