Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

1990 Z32 300ZX Primary Trigger Settings

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Hello all, I am setting up an ECUMaster EMU Black for my 1990 Z32 300zx Twinturbo (VG30DETT). Surprisingly I'm not finding much info on setting up my CAS Primary Trigger. ECUMaster does not have a base map for my engine.

From what I can tell it uses the 360 window CAS wheel. Can anyone advise on setting my First Trigger Tooth and Trigger Angle settings?

Thanks,

Attached Files

Hey I'm sorry I can help you with this I don't know but I did notice a post you made about using your HP eletronik PDM to run power windows. I'm curious how much you like the HP and if you wired directly to the windows?

Brian,

I have very little experience with that ECU, so I apologize in advance if this is not correct, but I want to try to help.

I believe you'd want Nissan Trigger, falling, 6 cylinder, (greyed out but 360 teeth gets converted to 60 teeth on this ECU), then you get to the items you're asking about.

Based on ECUMaster in application documentation the trigger angle seems to be the offset in degrees from the location of the first trigger tooth, to TDC #1 cylinder on the compression stroke. What's not clear to me is whether it wants a count based on 360 teeth or the converted 60 teeth. I have to guess so I'll say based on the converted 60 teeth, and you want a tooth count that gets you about 50-60 degrees before TDC.

If we decide to choose a 1st tooth count based on a total tooth count of 60, then we do 360 degrees / 60 teeth is 6 degrees per tooth.

Then to select which tooth to use I figure 9 x 6 is 54 so the 9th tooth before TDC should be in that 50-60 degree window before TDC that we want. This gives the ECU a position reading soon before spark, but not too close.