Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

1.8 NA8 1994 Mx-5 , SpeedyEFI Speeduino using TunerStudio

Practical Standalone Tuning

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discussion and questions related to the course Practical Standalone Tuning

= Resolved threads

Author

I'm New to tuning, but not new to cars or performance. I'm a shop owner, and a tech of over 20 years.

My passion is driving, and I decided to learn EFI tuning as a supplement to my knowledgebase, and maybe something further if it comes to that and I get a dyno and acquire the knack for it.

HERE'S My ISSUE:

1994 Mazda Mx-5 Miata, 1.8L NA8

Stock everything, MAF delete changed out to GM IAT. Innovative MTX-L + Wideband.

SpeedyEFI Speeduino (I know its cheap..) NA8 (1994-1995) PNP ECU with supplied NA6 PNP basemap which requires the sensors and trigger info for the NA8 WHICH I"M NOT 100% sure I've got them in there properly, although it did start and run last week on the narrowband for 10 mins, i've played iwth it so much since then i'm probably in the weeds... As well as I have the Wideband now as of yesterday.

ANYONE have experience on getting this setup properly?

I thought I had it because I had it running last week when it was warmer out for 10 mins. Then it got warm, stalled and would not restart. (This was on the narrowband). I figured it was the lack of true AFR reading, so I installed the Widbeand yesterday. Still not starting.

Datalog of cranking is attached if anyone has MegaLogviewer.

AFR's are FAT.. 7.4-8.5 But it never stays running, honestly I got lucky it ran for the 3-4 seconds it did in this log.

I bet my plugs are fouled, but there IS SOMETHING NOT RIGHT with my initial setting of the sensors, required fuel, engine constants, and possible spark or cranking data.

Really appreciate the help if anyone has any experience.